, ,

POST 21 – The Pine Cone

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

POST 21 – The Pine Cone

Today the kids came in with a little pine cone and asked me what it was.  I took them outside and showed them the big Pine Tree in our yard and started thinking… wow like this wee little pine cone, these kids are going to grow and grow and be big strong men.  Then I thought what if this pine cone had fallen on the road?  Would it still grow and I thought some pretty deep thoughts and wrote two poems.. one for today and one for tomorrow.   I hope you enjoy Post 21, it is for all the little children with a hope they land in a wonderful healthy environment that they can grow in.  Just like the pine cone.

Post 21 – The Pine Cone

By, Julie Pellissier-Lush

The kids brought me a pretty pine cone today

It smelled of Christmas I just had to say

What is it Mom they asked me

I could tell they really wanted to see

A pine cone is just like you

Tiny and small right now it’s true

And if you bury it in the ground

Very soon a treasure can be found

In a few years you be see

The beginning of a huge pine tree

For you little boys it is not just soil and sun

It is a lot of hugs and joy and fun

To help you grow just like that tree

Be a vision of beauty that I can see

The tree will grow branches

Your arms and legs will grow long

And as they grow they will get strong

Little pine needles will start to grow

You will get bigger ears and toes

You are like the pine cone children of mine

I know you will grow up and be just fine

You  will grow up to the sky

If you were given wings I bet you would fly

For the tree to be planted in a little glen

For you a house with lots of friends

With sun and rain and bright red earth

For you little boys, love and hugs right from your birth

My little ones, you are like the pine cone you found

I know this when I glance around

You will grow up so strong and fast

Being so little just doesn’t last

Because I know you were planted in the right place

Just like that pine cone we now call Grace

To grow and grow up from a seed

My little ones, love is all you need

2 responses to “POST 21 – The Pine Cone”

Leave a comment